Lemaiyan

Tall, bell eared boy with shy brown eyes and a Grecian nose, caramel skin tone, I started living when I met you.
No; this isn’t a love ode, or a confession of a heart fluttering crush.
This is a thank you note to my brother.
My favorite things about him are both those he inherited from my mother, from keen observation and shared genes, and his innate character.
Like how to flutter from light conversation to misogyny crushing lectures. Like how to brew perfect Kenyan tea. Like dry jokes and sarcasm.  Like how to spin creations in his mind and draw them up so big and elaborate both on paper and in people’s minds. Like how to make me laugh- to tears. Like the perfect Sunday lunch Ugali. 
Sharply focused on the sole parental installation in his life, my brother’s silent resilience and heavy scent of favor allowed him to exceed expectations- breaking glass ceilings for both he and I as he went- honoring our mother. He cut himself on his wit more times than I bruised myself on my pride; but as iron sharpens iron, we both learnt that silence bore wisdom and kept our sharp tongues sheathed.
I have wanted to be taller than you ever since I could stand; to best you at everything, even that which only nature controlled. I have marveled at your keenness in the pursuit of knowledge and the intensity of your love.
Tall, cheeky grinned boy with starry brown eyes and an algorithmic mind, caramel skin tone, I started living when I met you.
No, this isn’t a love ode, or a confession of a heart fluttering crush; this is a thank you note to my mother’s first and last son- as of yet.

Leave a Reply

